September 24, 2017, 09:44:42 AM

Author Topic: RE: Titanium wire for vaping  (Read 844 times)

Offline John Hiew

• Commodore
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
    • View Profile
  • Mods?: provari 2.5 mini
RE: Titanium wire for vaping
« on: November 05, 2015, 04:20:01 PM »
Hi all
Besides owner a 2 caravelas and a nau, I also own a variable  wattage mod. As you know the recent VW mods are mostly equip with temp control features with nickel, titanium or SS wires. I am no material scientist so most of my knowledge are limited to what I can gather online, through articles or forums. I have also come across comments by Pedro, as shown below. I hope some experienced vapers here can help me out to fully understand this.

And even though I'm sharing this, I'll tell you what I always do... IF YOU DON'T FEEL COMFORTABLE USING IT... DON'T USE IT!!

This is not designed to condone the use of the material, just to pass some information along.

1) Do everything with vaping at your own risk!! 2) The safest way to vape is to not vape at all... just don't smoke either!!

"Without performing any scientific research on this issue and based only on my experience with titanium and titanium dioxide coatings, I would say that is reasonable "safe" as long as the titanium wire is shiny!

Even with heat treatment (dry burns) the naturally occurring titanium dioxide growth should be very thin and have high adhesion to titanium wire.

What I recommend is to dry burn (unless the process has already been done by the wire manufacturer) until the titanium wire remains shiny! If it’s shiny the oxide layer is thin and should present high adhesion to titanium wire.

Even at room temperature all titanium produces a "protection” layer of titanium dioxide, however, I believe the adhesion to the metal will protect the vaper.

Although I have no experience with NI200 wire, based on my personal experience, I would choose TI wire over NI200 wire.